top of page

A Poem

Yay me, I skipped a week. I'm going to say that it is because I was on spring break, which should give me more time, but what's the point of actually taking responsibility for unpreparedness? Anyways, the poetry bug caught me--which is a little ironic, because I cannot tell you how many times I have said that no matter what, I would NEVER write poetry. Do you know what I've done like at least twice since I actually got serious about writing? I have VOLUNTARILY written (really bad) poems. The only time I've written poems before was for school, and I have to say, I wrote a pretty great limerick in seventh grade. For comparison, here is my (surprisingly okay) seventh-grade poem:


There was an old man from New York

Who couldn't stand the sight of pork

He once ran away

On barbeque day

And tripped and fell onto a spork


Pretty great, right? Well, here's the poem I wrote when I was in bed trying to sleep. Because what better time to write? By the way, before you read it, just know that it has no rhyme or meter, but like there is a bit of rhyme (more slant rhyme than real) peppered through. It has a tune in my head... Anyways, here goes:


She goes through her days

A stone mask cov'ring her face

She can't let anyone see

The brokenness inside, or maybe

They'll realize

She's not who she seems to be

Built a wall

Brick by brick

"Don't let anyone inside

Or all the things you've tried to do

Will all come crashing down."

Life is meant to be shared

Not hidden inside

A shadowbox somewhere

But the voices all whisper inside,

"You're gonna lose it if you don't hide."

The mask is unshakeable

The wall is unbreakable

The brokenness fills her life

She will drown, 'cause she can't

Swim to the other side

No end in sight

"Swim towards the light"

Where is the light?

The mask is cracking

The dam is bursting

A tear slides down

Her heart is breaking

The wall is falling

Falling down, all around

Brick by brick, down, down, down

But how can she build from the rubble

A patch that can fill a broken heart

Such a show of vulnerability

Will it help, or stunt her new start?

Life is meant to be shared

But who can one safely share it with?

If unprepared

Your heart will get broken to little bits

Again

Again

Again and again

How do we know

It won't happen again?

How will we grow

If it happens again?

How do we hope

If it happens again?

No one can know

If it will happen again

It's why we trust

Take a leap

Hope for the best

No matter what happens next

We can still grow,

With a little hope

On we can go,

With a little hope

God only knows

But we learn to cope

Don't let it go

Hold on to hope

Life hasn't given up on you

Don't give up on it too

Pray we can hope

Even if we get broke

Without the stone


I now realize that that last line was a bit confusing; the stone it refers to is the stone mask that the girl at the beginning is wearing. Just so you know ;)

Please let me know which poem you liked better! (My vote is for the limerick)

-Jana B., YAuthor (not a very creative sign-off, I know, I'm trying, I promise, and I hope you like all of the commas I've used in this one set of parenthesis)

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Changes

bottom of page